You Can Wear: Colored Jeans

cobalt jeans, red jeans, blush jeans, pastel jeans, how to wear colored jeans, business casual

Colored jeans are being seen from bright and bold to soft and pastel, on celebrities and bloggers alike. Myself included! Once I bought my first pair, I understood why. These pieces have the versatility and comfort of a pair of dependable blue jeans, but look so much more fun and trendy.

You can pair them like Kim Kardashian did – with a basic white tee and black leather jacket (or blazer for work). Try Sarah Jessica Parker’s weekend casual look by pairing with a colored loose tee and black flats. Cameron Diaz’s pastel jeans are on my wish list. I love how she kept the top neutral and soft with a loose top and tan blazer.

Here’s the pair I have and how I’ve worn them:

I wasn’t sure how I would make them work when I first bought them, but I’ve worn them so many times and have found them to be extremely versatile. I wear them to work and on the weekends too. It feels so good and little bit wrong to wear them Monday – Thursday. (Friday is casual day at work.)

These rust colored pants were my ‘test pair’ from Forever 21 and because I found them to be so versatile, I wanted to add some more colors to my closet, but I just couldn’t decide which color to go with. When Forever 21 had their free shipping promo on Easter Sunday, I picked up two pairs of the Forever 21 Skinny Fit jeans. One in cobalt blue and one in camel. I just got them in and other than needing a hem, they fit perfectly. (I ordered a size down in these because according to reviews and other jeans I’ve bought here, they do run a size large.)

skinny colored jeans, camel colored jeans, forever 21

At $15.50 a pair, you can’t beat the price! They are actually pretty decent for $15 jeans. My rust ones you see above were a little more than $20 if I can remember correctly, and they’ve held up really well. These are also available in white and I waited for them to be restocked in that color. And waited. And waited. I finally ended up buying the pair you’ve seen me wear at Wet Seal. Forever 21 restocked them in white last week, so I snatched up a pair for myself and my sister. There are still a few sizes left but the color and sizes of these colored jeans go really quickly online. I’ve tried to find them in store as well, with no luck!

So, do you own a pair of colored jeans yet? If not, I’d recommend getting a pair from Forever 21 if you can. It’s a great low price to try out a trend.

**If you liked this colored jeans post, be sure to check out my post on The Versatility of a Chambray Shirt to see how to wear chambray!

15 thoughts on “You Can Wear: Colored Jeans

  1. I have been dying to buy a pair of colored jeans but have been too chicken! I always like how you wear yours and really love the cobalt pair that Kim K. is wearing. I think a darker color would suit me better, or maybe it’s just me doing the ease into color from black! Either way, I plan on taking the plunge soon :).

  2. I only have one pair of color denim…an emerald green pair from Target (they fit amazingly well, btw). I can’t wait to add more colors to my collection!

    -Sharon

  3. I definitely need a pair of rust colored and cobalt πŸ™‚ I have green at the moment and a peach pink ones πŸ™‚ Loving them! Love how you styled them for Winter πŸ™‚

  4. I just bought a pair of turquoise jeans and was wondering how to make them work-appropriate. This post gave some great ideas – thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  5. Your blog has given me the necessary push to start wearing colored jeans to work! My workplace is semi-casual, and I’m always trying to look for inspiration online as to what I can rock to work without losing my personal style. So far, I’ve been sticking to basics such as slacks and pencils skirts, but I do go a little louder on some of my tops. As far as colored jeans, I purchased a majority of them from Ross, which was not the best idea because the sizing was inconsistent from 3 pairs that I bought (red, cobalt blue, and jade). Then, last week I discovered that F21+ restocked their colored denim and I was able to order 3 more pairs in wine, electric blue, and camel. So excited for them to come in and finally be able to wear them at work!

    • That’s what I like to hear! πŸ˜‰ I never realized how versatile colored jeans could be until I bought my first pair and got hooked!! Let me know how the f21 jeans work for you when they come in! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

