(My FIRST!) Video Tutorial: A Night Out Smokey Eye Look

smokey eye tutorial, nude lipstick, NYX Pumpkin Pie, nude gloss, night out makeup look

I tweeted a similar a couple weeks ago when I went out to celebrate a friend’s birthday and had some requests to do a tutorial on this look. This is a dramatic and glamorous look that I only wear when I’m going out with my friends at night. I have never attempted a YouTube tutorial but I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to get My Dressy Ways out on YouTubeland!

Because I’m NOT a makeup guru, a look like this takes me 45 minutes to achieve. I take my time and layer color on my eyes until I feel like I’ve achieved the right amount of drama.

With eyes this dramatic, I also love glowy cheeks and glossy nude lips.

Friends, I spare you no wrinkle or blemish. I can’t believe I put myself out there completely bare-faced!

Please view my video and leave me some comments and likes to let me know what you think! Videos are definitely much harder and longer to edit than blog posts, whew! I don’t know HOW the gurus do it! Much props to the pros! Without further ado, go and show me some YouTube love!

Products Mentioned:

EYES:

FACE:

LIPS

  • Nude lipstick – NYX round lipstick in Pumpkin Pie
  • Nude lipgloss – Sally Hansen Lip Inflation Color-Full in Flaunt, discontinued but check eBay!

TOOLS:

  • Foundation Brush – Essence of Beauty
  • Large eyeshadow brush – Revlon
  • Medium eyeshadow brush – ?
  • Eye crease brush – BedHead
  • Blending brush – Sonia Kashuk
  • Angled eyeliner brush – Eco Tools
16 thoughts on “(My FIRST!) Video Tutorial: A Night Out Smokey Eye Look

  1. Just watched the whole thing (made my hubby watch too)! You did such a great job!! I am completely envious of your eye shape and how easy you made applying those false lashes look! 🙂 My readers have been asking for a smokey eye tutorial for a while and now I REALLY don’t want to do it because it won’t be as good as yours!!

  2. I just saw your video and it was great ! You made it look so easy. I’ve tried soo many times to create a smokey eye and have failed badly. I think this tutorial will def help me. You made it seem so easy ! Thank you

  3. Just watched your youtube video! So awesome, Ying. I love being able to see my fave bloggers in “live” action. Your makeup always look fantastic. Thanks for sharing how you get it done.

  4. Pingback: How I Wear: Blue and orange colorblock | My Dressy Ways

    • Lol, well I was born and raised in the U.S. so yes, the accent is definitely there! I’m not sure how I’d approach OOTD on video…but I’m trying to think of some other ways to do video, including somehow incorporating outfits. Thanks for watching and for the suggestion!

  5. great job ying! your makeup always looks flawless! i’m always jealous of your instagram pics. =) i RARELY wear liner or shadow anymore. in fact, i just put on black eyeliner and a very light smokey eye for our date night last friday and i felt like it made me look older. i think i have hit the “too old for black liner” wall!!! =( after watching your video, i want to give it another try!

  6. Yay, you are so brave to do a video! I wish I could do the black eyeliner, I feel like it SERIOUSLY ages me. Well, that’s not true…I’m already aged it just makes me notice it more!!!

  7. Pingback: March Outfit Recap | My Dressy Ways

  8. Pingback: What to wear for a night out | My Dressy Ways

  9. I finished watching your video it was reallly good in fact when I do my eyes I watch it and go step by step. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

