The versatility of a chambray shirt

J Crew Selvidge / J Crew Keeper / Old Navy Utility Pocket / Old Navy Chambray

The chambray shirt of last spring and summer has taken us through the fall and winter season and will still be a hot item for this spring. And why not? Its casual prep look is the perfect piece to wear alone or layered.

I bought mine from Target last summer and it’s become the perfect shirt to wear under sweaters and vests. It also pairs well with flowy skirts and pencil skirts. See how I’ve worn it:

(Click on pictures for original post.)

Wearing my chambray shirt layered under a sweater with colored denim and leopard print. Definitely one of my favorite pairings.

Wearing a chambray shirt with black pants. I added studded gladiator shoes and stacked jewelry for a ‘tough’ look.

ankle boots, chestnut boots, khaki skirt, chambray shirt

Wearing the chambray shirt with a utility vest and skirt for a military look. I also added a pearl statement necklace for a feminine touch.

Chambray also pairs well with stripes and skirts. I added some color with my
hot pink wedges.

Denim on denim. An often feared combination but one that I have definitely rocked (multiple times). This is definitely a great weekend look.

Is a chambray shirt in your arsenal already? How have you paired it? I’d love some more ideas on how to wear mine. If you don’t have one, are you on the lookout for one?

22 thoughts on “The versatility of a chambray shirt

  1. How funny that you and Kimberly have such similar posts! I totally need a chambray shirt. Forget flawless skin envy, it’s totally chambray shirt envy! haha.

  2. Yay for twins! I wore red pants, pearls and a chambray blouse to work too! I almost put on my Izzy leopard pumps too! Great outfit D:

  3. Pingback: You Can Wear: Colored Jeans | My Dressy Ways

  4. I way wary of the chambray shirt not knowing how much use I would or could get out of it. I bought one and I love it. I will have to try some of these outfit combos. Love it with the striped skirt and the “tough” look haha

Leave a Reply

