How I Wear: Raspberry sheath dress

sheath dress with cardigan, sheath dress with boots, leopard print belt

Wearing:

|Dress| Target (Similar, Limited; Similar, Kohls)
|Cardigan| Papaya
|Boots| Qupid
|Necklace| Claires
|Belt| New York & Co.

This sheath dress is one of my favorite pieces, see it without the cardigan here. (WOW do I have a great summer tan or what?)

Wearing bold colors takes some bravery – at first – but once you try it, you’ll love it. If you learn the right colors to wear with your coloring, you’ll see how much it can flatter your complexion. Start with a classic piece of clothing like this sheath dress or a skirt. Pair it with neutrals, black or gray to tone it down.

20120307-215448.jpg

21 thoughts on “How I Wear: Raspberry sheath dress

  1. hi! i am new to your blog and love how you pair affordable clothing. i think it’s funny that your outfit colors are reversed from your last post!

  2. Cute dress! I love the color. Thanks for recommending me the makeup. I’m going to try it out. I can’t believe two of my friends are getting married on the same day! And the weddings are an hour away from each other.

    Helen

  3. This is a great look ! Colors look great on you. How do you get your bun to look nice ? My hair is layered and I can never get it to look half as nice as yours

    • Hi there! First off, I have have very thin, slick and straight hair. When I wear my hair in a bun, it’s typically day 2 hair. Also, I find that when I curl my hair, and wear my hair in a bun the next day, it holds much better. The curls and all the product I use in my hair helps the bun to look fuller and keep it’s shape. (It will have mousse and hairspray in it from the curling.)

      The bun in particular that you asked about is held up with a small plastic hair band (that’s how thin my hair is). I pull my hair through it one time and then the second time I pull it through, I don’t pull the ends all the way through – so my hair is ‘looped’. Then I tie the band around a third time – again, not pulling my hair through all the way to create the ‘pouf”. After that, I just go in and pin my hair down in sections with a bobby pin. Then I use some hairspray to tame the flyaway pieces.

      Hope that helps! Let me know if you have questions about my explanation!

Leave a Reply

