DIY Designer Bracelet Party – Woven Chain Bracelet

Inspired by this photo and this HonestlyWTF DIY tutorial, some blogger friends and I decided to have a blog party and make our version of a designer bracelet.

The tutorial I referenced above does a great job of explaining step by step with instructions and photos so I won’t attempt to re-write them for you here. I’ll just share with you what I did differently and some ‘learnings’ from my own attempt.

First of all, it is NOT easy to find a curb chain! At least one small enough for my wrist. The one that I did manage to find on ebay was short enough for my wrist but was smaller than the one used in the tutorial so I had to get a bit creative at the last minute.

I chose to use fall colors for my bracelet so that I can take this bracelet with me into the next season. Plus, with all the arm parties I’ve been hosting, I wanted something colorful to add.

I followed the directions as posted but because my curb chain was much smaller than the one used in the tutorial, I used less embroidery floss. I only used about three or four strands of each color. Just judge how much you’ll need by the size of your curb chain.

Also, instead of bobby pins, I taped the ends of the embroidery floss together so I could pull them through the links. It worked out pretty nicely with my small curb chain.

The end result?

I love it! I’m glad the chain I used was smaller because it fit perfectly on me and isn’t too overwhelming.

If you want to attempt this DIY, it starts out hard, but once you get the hang of it, it’s pretty easy. The first link is the hardest because the embroidery floss and the link flip around since it’s not yet secure, but once you get past the third link, it gets easier. Hang in there! It CAN be done!

HUGE shoutout to Jennifer from The Looks For Less for all the work she put in to create the banner at the top as well as the images below. She is an amazingly patient and sweet blogger. Love her! (Been a big fan of hers for a long time, so I’m way excited to call her a friend now!) She and Tina from xoxo, Trina were the masterminds behind how this blog party was going to work. Thank you SO much ladies!

Here are my blogger friends and their DIY designer inspired bracelets. Check them out! They are a group of fantastic ladies. It’s been so fun going back and forth with them on this project. (Click on their pictures to go directly to their post to see more about their bracelets.)

22 thoughts on “DIY Designer Bracelet Party – Woven Chain Bracelet

  1. You did a beautiful job with this bracelet and I’ll definitely view the tutorial tonight! I’ve bought bracelets like this at F21 but they only have the chain with 1 colour of embroidery string…not the multitude as featured here. I love it!

  2. What an awesome way to recreate! Looooove this! Wish I was just more of a jewelry kind of girl…well, I am…but one that actually wears them! Ha. Beautiful ideas ladies. 🙂

  3. genius idea, the virtual DIY party! count me in on the next one.. i think! 🙂 LOL, I’m really not good at things like this (and am also very competitive, bad combo!). haha.

  4. Pretty bracelet! I have very tiny wrists and have a really hard time finding bracelets that actually will fit without falling off so thanks for giving those of us with smaller wrists a smaller version. How did you know what size to get from ebay? Do you guess or actually measure your wrist? I would love to do this, but I would hope to find a chain small enough for me 🙂 You ladies did a super job with these DIY bracelets!

  5. How FUN! I love that you made the bracelet in a smaller version (although my big ole wrists need the big mama). I love that you all joined in for your own “arm party”!

  6. This was a really interesting post. I had seen the Honestly WTF DIY a long time ago but I’ve never tried it. Yours came out cute and I like the colors you chose. I also like that you put all your blogger girls down at the bottom.
    xo,
    The Fashionable ESQ

  7. Pingback: Wearing: Leopard and Rust, a fall tease | My Dressy Ways

  8. I know you posted this months ago, but I’m just coming across it here and love it! I also have an insanely tiny wrist and I’m hoping you can point me in the direction of where you managed to locate the smaller size curb link bracelet on ebay? I’ve searched for 5.5″ and 6″ curb link bracelets, but the smallest I can seem to find is 7.5″. I’d be so grateful if you could let me know the seller who has them! Thanks!!!

  9. Great beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog web
    site? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided shiny transparent concept

Leave a Reply

