Wearing: Ann Taylor colorblock top and my weekend


Wearing:

  • Ann Taylor colorblock top
  • Charlotte Russe jeans and wedges
  • Forever 21 bangles

My husband is getting a little ridiculous at taking pictures of me. He just snaps, snaps away and I end up with tons of goofy looking pictures of me making faces at him or laughing at his antics. So out of all the shots he took of this outfit, these are the only two I could use. I bought this top last week at Ann Taylor and I couldn’t be happier with it. I think it’d look great paired with pants or a pencil skirt too but I couldn’t wait to wear it so I kept it casual with a pair of jeans and wedges.

A lil bit about my weekend (plus I have a few photos to share):

It was a great weekend spent with my family. My mom and dad live in Georgia which is three hours away from where I live.Β  After dinner, my mom even suggested we go catch a movie before we go home. I laughed at her willingness to try anything for a couple of extra hours with us. When I think about it, it’s gotta be hard going from eight kids to three living at home. (Yes, I have a huge family!) I can’t even begin to fathom the day my two are gone and it’s just my husband and me!

Anyway, before I get really super emotional on here – yesterday the girls went shopping. (OF COURSE!) We did end up at H&M at Atlantic Station. It is a huge store, but extremely picked through. The store was super crowded and I had a hard time finding anything in my size. I picked up a few tops for my daughter and walked out with a lone ring for me.

I did pick up a new pair of kicks at Target! Check ’em out! I’ve been wanting a pair of Chucks for awhile now and these are perfect.

My sister (like my husband) also thinks it’s funny to take ridiculous shots of me. I love the support.

My Dressy Ways blog supporters. They’re the best. Especially my little one. She wants her own ‘website’ too. πŸ˜›

My mommy!

My weekends ARE less dressy unless I have a special event. Summer outfits are pretty simple and low-key since I’m toting around two little ones in the heat and humidity. That’s why I’m so excited about my chucks! They’ll be a nice addition to my more casual weekend outfits.

16 thoughts on “Wearing: Ann Taylor colorblock top and my weekend

  1. Your girl is so photogenic! I’ve noticed that you’ve found some great deals at Ann Taylor. I don’t think we have a store here but they have some amazing stuff on their website.

    • I sure have! Their quality is amazing too! It’s too bad you don’t have a store. They tend to have more selection with lower prices. Where’s the closest one?

  2. OH my gosh! You’re little girl is gorgeous! I think I’ve created a little fashion monster too. Mine isn’t even two yet, and she already picks out her clothes! So glad you stopped by so I could find your blog. Following you now. πŸ˜‰

    Where do I see these recent thrift items you scored? xx

    PS – Take a survey on my blog about vintage/thrift fashion here! and be entered to win $70 in makeup!

    • Yay for much needed quality time for you and your man! You’re amazing! My brother-in-law is a Marine and I gotta give mad props to the girlfriends and wives of servicemen. You are the strongest! I don’t think I could do it.

      To answer your question about the Chucks, I would have wore them with my outfit here! I bet they’d look great with white shorts and a tank top. Try rolled up jeans too! Or a striped tank dress in black and white or black and navy. Try a casual nautical look!

  3. Just discovered your blog through Twitter. Your little girl is so cute! I remember being that age loving all things in pink and posing like that! I definitely did not see that top you got on sale at Ann Taylor, living 2 blocks from the Michigan Avenue store in Chicago…things get picked over SUPER fast. Glad you found some great deals!

  4. I am loving your new blog! Love all the photos(whether they’re silly or not!). They all capture your personality very well. So quirky and full of fun! You always have great insights on fashion, obviously..and always so helpful! Miss you on blogspot, but I think your new home is definitely an upgrade! πŸ™‚

  5. Hey big sister! I LOOOOOOOOOVE this site! You must have read my mind! Ever since we left each other, I have been fashion flopping! You know I have always looked to you for guidance, more like stealing your exact ensembles, since the beginning of time! I’m working on reinventing myself this year by taking better care of myself (more exercise) and updating my wardrobe. I’ve been working on pieces that are more sophisticated (since I still look underage) and that I can wear casually and for work. Because I am nearing the end of my college career, I’ve also been trying build on my professional wardrobe. I know this site is going to help me achieve these goals and hopefully be an inspiration to others here in Lansing! πŸ˜‰ BTW, I’ve been wanting Chucks too, but I wasn’t too sure how they would look on a grown person, but I think you nailed it and I’m leaning more towards them now! Also, are your beige pumps from target as well? If so, I bought a pair last month and am excited to wear them!

    • Awww yay! I’m so happy you love and approve! Yeah, Judy tells me she waits and watches what I wear and then just copies me too. HAHAHAHA. So now you can do the same from afar! Love you!

      My pumps are Jessica Simpson, but I know the ones you’re talking about.

  6. Pingback: Wearing: Pink and camel | My Dressy Ways

Leave a Reply

