Frugal Shopping: Ann Taylor

Stopped in at Ann Taylor to check out their additional 50% off sale and picked up some great pieces that I’m really excited about!

20110713-093535.jpg

A lot of black and white, right?

Clockwise from the top:

Colorblock top: $9.94 Final Sale price, down from $78. I love this and have had a top like this on my wish list. I will be sporting this ASAP.

Black long sleeve knit top: $6.44 Final Sale price, down from $38. What gal doesn’t need a basic black tee? I love the tabs on the shoulders. Extra details that make it unique.

Silk Camp Shirt: $14.94 Final Sale price down from $88. This shirt is 100% silk! I love it and know it’s going to get a lot of wear.

Black skinny trousers: $14.94, down from $78. Love these! This is another item that’s been on my wishlist. It’s been hard for me to find a great pair of (inexpensive) skinny black pants. Ever since I bought the pair I wore in yesterday’s post, I’ve been on the lookout for another pair. These new ones are too long but I can do a little hemming for the price I paid!

The store associate was so sweet. She offered me advice on sizes and was so excited about the great deals I was getting. We both couldn’t believe I got everything I did for under $50. I’ve always had a great experience with sales associates in Ann Taylor and LOFT stores. They are so friendly and very helpful and not to mention, stylish!

If you get a chance, stop in while all sale items are an additional 50% off, I’m not sure how long the sale in-stores will be. All the items I bought were non-returnable, final sale items,  but I know for sure they aren’t going back to the store.

My sale shopping tips:
When I buy final sale items, I’m not so picky about size. From what I can tell (I’m no expert), final sale items are usually one-of-a-kind items, meaning it may be the last remaining item of that style in the store. Some may be internet returns. Or, on the other side of the spectrum, they may have had an overstock of that style or it didn’t sell as well as anticipated, either way, they need to sell that inventory to make room for new items, so we, the savvy shopper win! If an item isn’t available in ‘your’ size, be willing to try a size larger, as long as it doesn’t look too big. Maybe even try a size smaller than you’d normally wear (I actually did with the black slacks because of the encouragement of the store associate), clothes aren’t always made to the exact fit you may be used to. Ann Taylor’s petite sizing also helps when going up a size, for example, if they don’t have a size 4, try the 6P, it may still be a great fit. Of course, this is easier to do with tops and dresses than bottoms. Just remember, when trying to get a good deal, don’t discriminate based on size!

7 thoughts on “Frugal Shopping: Ann Taylor

    • Thanks! I saw that one online! No small sizes available now though. I now have this AT shirt and two similar LOFT shirts, one in blush and one in olive. But I LOVE them!

  1. Saw that black & white top a few weeks ago & loved it but it was still over $20 so I didn’t get it. I’ve been thinking about it & now I’ll have to go back!! You got EXCELLENT deals, can’t be a silk shirt for $15!

  2. You seriously got some great buys – and for a steal! I find that I lose my patience with sale racks – they’re often jumbled and a little unorganized, but I think if you have the patience to sift through em, you find some great stuff! And I agree about size – if its super cheap on sale, I’ll buy a size down and get it tailored!

    Just found your blog, btw! Love your style!

    Jen
    houseofjeffers.blogspot.com

    • Sale racks do take patience. Ann Taylor and Loft do a good job of keeping the sizes organized. Shopping a sale does take work but I’m always willing in order to get a great deal!

      Thanks for stopping by and for the sweet comment. Hope I’ll see you back here soon!

Leave a Reply

