July Birchbox Review (My FIRST box)!

Correction: The Redken is not full-size! It is only a 2.1 oz not 4.4 oz. Sorry for the error and thank you Fran for pointing that out!

Birchbox has extended the sign up for July’s box until the 15th of this month so you still have time to get in on the July goodies!

(Update on 7/12 @ 10:32 am) Just saw on twitter that July boxes are sold out! Sign up now to get the August box!

I am so excited about my first Birchbox! This month’s products were handpicked by Cynthia Rowley and include her must-have products.

First impression – the box was a bit smaller than I expected. Lol, these ARE samples after all. It just looked so big from all the pictures fans have been posting. The box itself ships in a bright pink box so it really stood out. I opened it to find the beautiful Cynthia Rowley sleeve.

I had a hard time pulling off the sleeve because I didn’t want to damage it! I wanted to tear it open though, I really did. At the top of the box was a card with a note about this month’s box and on the flipside, a list of the products I received.

All the products were nestled up inside…so exciting!

Inside the additionally wrapped tissue, I found a small bottle of Philosophy Purity cleanser and a deluxe sample of Zoya nailpolish in Shay. I mean, at this point, it was really feeling like Christmas. Surprise after surprise.

NOTE: the OPI nailpolish wasn’t included, I added it so you can get an idea of the size of the box and its contents.

My thoughts on each product:

1 – AHAVA mineral cream: I’ve not heard of this product but I love to try new things so I’m excited to try this out.

2 – Philosophy Purity Cleanser: I’ve used this and LOVE it. I had a deluxe sample of the foaming Purity I earned from Sephora points and had been travelling with it but it’s getting low. I was JUST thinking the other day that I needed to get my hands on another sample size. I travel a lot to visit my parents in Georgia so I love my samples because they take up less space than full size products. (Which is another reason I decided to give Birchbox a go.)

3 – Redken Shine Flash 02 – this is 2.1 oz 4.4 oz bottle, which is actually the full size bottle. This retails for $17! I love Redken products and can’t wait to try this!

4 – Zoya nailpolish in Shay – This color is described as a creamy, slightly metallic nude. I am wearing it right now, I just couldn’t wait. πŸ™‚ I kid you not when I say I’ve been looking for a color JUST like this. I even attempted to re-create this with two colors from my stash but was very, very unsuccessful. About a year ago, I was at a conference and one of the attendees had on a similar color. It looked so sophisticated – nudes always look so, but it also looked so trendy because of the metallic finish. I wanted to ask her what color her nails were but didn’t get a chance to. I can’t believe that this color came to me in my first Birchbox! I’m in love with this color and will be ordering it in a full size. (I just decided that.)

5 – KIND Almond and Apricot bar – I ate it already. Hehe. So believe me when I say, it’s good! I just got back from the gym so this was a great snack for me. Yummy.

Birchbox, you are after my own heart. My favorite Philosophy product, the nail polish color I’ve been looking for and FOOD! I am SO happy I finally took the plunge thanks to my tweeps – The Average Girls Guide and Smart n Snazzy.

If you haven’t signed up yet, YOU NEED TO. This month’s box is amazing! I’m so excited about it, I had to blog right away!

About Birchbox:

Birchbox is a monthly subscription that costs $10/month and you are billed automatically. When you sign up, you fill out a beauty profile and your monthly box will be tailored with deluxe samples to fit your profile – there are several different packages so you may not get the same items as another subscriber. If you get something in your box that you want to buy, shipping is free. You also rack up Birchbox points for every dollar you spend. When you reach 100 points, you can redeem the points for $10. I love cash back programs!

8 thoughts on “July Birchbox Review (My FIRST box)!

  1. I’ve been debating on trying..you’ve convinced me! πŸ™‚ Oh and Ahava is great brand! Their face serum is so effective and feels great on skin.

  2. I get it every month too. My nailpolish was Pandora (I liked yours better), I got a dry oil (my neighbor-friend got mineral makeup), she also got bath gel. We all get mostly the same items w a few variances. BB day is like Christmas day every monthγ‚·

      • Thank you so much Fran for pointing the size of the Redken out for me. Was your Zoya full size? Mine was a mini. I was thinking that the bar must have been the full size for me this month. πŸ™‚

  3. Yayyyyyyyyy!!! What an awesome month. So happy for you taking the plunge and thanks for the shout out. All about a little peer pressure. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

