Wearing: Maxi dresses – the new black!

Wearing:

  • Derek Heart maxi dress
  • H&M (trusty) cami
  • Target cardigan
  • Kohls studded strap wedges
  • H&M bauble ring
  • Forever 21 bracelet
  • Claire’s earrings

I recently picked up a Forever 21 maxi dress from my coworker who bought it online and found it to be too small for her. I wore it out to celebrate my birthday with the girls and when I saw the pictures, I thought, “Wow, I look REALLY tall and thin.” (I’m 5’1″.)

Here’s a picture of me in the dress I bought from my coworker. I think the pattern of the dress also helps with the long and lean illusion. This one is actually a bit shorter than I usually like my maxi dresses to be, but it turned out ok. I don’t like that the length of maxi dresses has come up a couple inches – is that a part of the recession too? 😉 I like my maxis to graze the floor when I’m wearing tall shoes.

So ladies, I’m going to say maxi’s are the new black. As in in, slimming, lengthening black. Make sure you pair a long floor skimming maxi with tall wedges for the full effect.

Forever 21 Tie Dye Stripes Maxi – $19.80 I love this dress! Might have to snatch this up!

LC Lauren Conrad Striped Tiered Dress – $45.00 I love the fullness of the bottom tiers!

Ten Hearts Paisley Maxi dress – $43.10 I am a sucker for paisley. The ruffle top is so romantic. I can see myself wearing this for a stroll down the beach, flip flops in hand….

Love Maxi Dress – $76.00 I love the simplicity and color of this dress; makes it very versatile. Style this with a tee and blazer to make into a maxi skirt. Add a pop of color with red, coral or turquoise. The options really are endless with a dress like this!

7 thoughts on “Wearing: Maxi dresses – the new black!

  1. Love both of these dresses on you…they do make you look taller! Not that I need the help (I’m already 5’8″)!! But, I bought one in solid black with braided straps that I wore the other day with a snakeskin belt. Somehow I feel more glamorous wearing long dresses! 🙂

  2. You look awesome in both; definitely super tall and slim in that second one! And, I adore LC’s big flowy striped one. Often those are so long but definitely worth a trip to Kohl’s for moi.

  3. DANG GIRL! That strapless maxi is HOT! You look like a supermodel. the colors are fantastic! I have been lusting after that LC Lauren Conrad maxi…my stores haven’t had it and I haven’t ordered from .com yet!

Leave a Reply

