My Top 5 Summer Beauty Picks

I’m back! I took a short hiatus from Twitter, Facebook and blogs last week due to an extremely last minute trip to Orlando. Extremely last minute = final decision made Monday afternoon + hotel booked Monday night + take off on Tuesday morning. 🙂 That’s my husband for ya! But it was so much fun and one of the best trips ever! Fun doesn’t need to be planned, right? I also decided to get on social media as little as possible so I could enjoy the time with my little family. But now, I’m back and ready to roll. Kinda. As ready as I can be after a vacation!

It was extremely hot in Florida and even though I’m back home to South Carolina, I know the heat and humidity will only get worse! So here are my tried and true summer beauty picks that get me through the heat!

1. Goody Ouchless elastic headbands: these are skinny elastic headbands that are great for pulling your hair back and away from your face. I’ve used these at the pool and especially when I was trekking through the Disney parks! Because of my oversize noggin, I can’t wear most hard headbands because they give me a headache from pinching the sides of my head together. Sad, but true. So I was really excited to try elastic headbands. All were a fail before I found these. The wider ones were still too small and would start retracting as soon as I put them on my head. These are the right size for me and also have a plastic grip underneath the elastic to help it stay in place. The thin elastic also helps make it ‘ouchless’ so that it doesn’t tug at my hair.

2. Aveeno Continuous Protection SPF70 Sunblock Spray: Sunblock is oh-so-important and I don’t mind using this at all! The spray is so easy to use. It’s a very light formula that quickly absorbs and goes on non-greasy. It doesn’t even feel like you have sunblock on! This is especially good for times when you’re going to be out in the sun and don’t want to look like you’ve gobbed on sunblock. Bonus: it smells good!

3. Maybelline Lash Stiletto in Very Black: This actually is a year-round staple for me, but I’m listing it here because this mascara doesn’t smear despite the heat and humidity. It lengthens and thickens my lashes for lazy days that I go without eye makeup but still want to look effortlessly put together. This mascara replaced my Too Faced Lash Injection because I got the same results at a fraction of the cost. I have stick straight Asian eyelashes and have found that most mascaras cause my lashes to straighten out after I curl them. I kid you not, at night after I remove my mascara, my eyelashes are STILL holding a curl. I repeat – AFTER I remove my mascara. It takes a few coats of this mascara, but the results on my short, thin and straight lashes are AMAZING. I get volume, length and curl from this amazing formula.

4. Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Strips: These came out long before the summer and were all the rage. At the time, I thought that they’d be great for vacations! Don’t you hate when your manicure chips and peels on vacation? On my trip to Orlando, I decided to give these the vacation test. Because of our last minute plans, I didn’t have my nails done so I put them on in the car while my husband drove. That’s how easy they are to apply! They lasted all through two Disney parks, Seaworld and a day at the beach. I’m still wearing them today, so I’m on my 7th day of wear. As much as I love regular nail polish, it would never hold up for this long!5. Aveeno Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturizer: Another great summer item for no-fuss days. I’ve been pretty lazy lately and this has been a life saver because I don’t have to use foundation. I originally bought it just to use on the weekends, but have started using it during the work week too!

4 thoughts on “My Top 5 Summer Beauty Picks

  1. Pingback: Disney and a peek of me in mommy mode | My Dressy Ways

Leave a Reply

