Trading Places

I was/am a fan of Philosophy’s Hope in a Jar moisturizer and their Purity Made Simple cleanser (user of 3+ years).  However, price was always an issue for me.  At $38 for 2 oz. and $20 for an 8oz., respectively, it was more than I wanted to pay.  I justified it with the fact that both products seemingly lasted FOR.EVER.  I typically got about nine months of usage out of both of them.  Maybe more.  I think the cleanser lasted longer because I only used it at night.  The moisturizer was 2x a day.  I usually purchased both simultaneously.
Pros:

– faint fragrance – a lot of people complain about the scent of both, but it actually doesn’t bother me that much
– Hope in a Jar is a WONDERFUL quick absorbing moisturizer
– the cleanser removes make up easily and thoroughly
– only a MINUTE amount of either product is needed (making it last FOR.EVER.)

Cons:
– Cost $58 out of pocket each time
– no SPF (this is kinda a biggie, but I use a foundation with SPF)
– Um.  Can’t think of anything else.  🙂

After my last jar of Hope in a Jar, I switched back to the Aveeno moisturizer which I used prior to the Hope in a Jar and I’ve been pretty happy with it.  By the way, this is what happened to my last jar.  I kid you not.
My son got a hold of it one morning and slathered it all over his head.  I saved what I could, but most of it washed down the drain.  I considered taking a squeegee to his head.  I nicknamed him Destructo at this point.
So maybe this is what subconsciously motivated me to use something more inexpensive.  Aveeno’s Positively Radiant moisturizer with SPF 15.  Price tag:  $14.99 for a 4 oz.bottle.
When I bought this, I also saw that this was on clearance beside it.  And thought, why not?
Aveeno Ulra-Calming cleanser.  It retails for about $6 a pop for a 5 oz. bottle.

Pretty much same pros and cons as I listed for the Philosophy products except I’d have to say I use more product to achieve the same results as the Philosophy products. Price is a huge PRO.  At $20.99 out of pocket each time, I don’t cringe as much.  I’ve been pretty happy with both of the Aveeno products.  Again, I’ve used the moisturizer before so I was familiar with it.  It got me through the winter months!  I love that it is light and has a very light fragrance.  I can’t stand things that are too perfumey going on my face.   The cleanser has been wonderful. I hate the tight, dry feeling after washing my face and the Aveeno Ultra-Calming does NOT do that.  (Neither does the Purity Made Simple.)  Make up comes off very easily as well.  That’s a good thing, right?

So I am about out of both of these Aveeno products and am ready to make my next purchase.

Here’s my calculations:

Philosophy: 9 months = $58, or $77.33 a year
Aveeno: 4 months = $20.99, or $62.97 a year

What do you think?  Interesting, right?  Believe when I say, I just did that. Didn’t do this prior to posting this blog.  Huh.  I’m baffled.  Guess I was right after all.  Philosophy IS worth the extra bucks.  Hmm.  Now what?  Plus, I get points for Sephora purchases.

2 thoughts on “Trading Places

  1. hey you should try cera ve as a moisturizer. it's really cheap, works better than my dior moisturizer in my opinion, and has raving reviews. i just got some 🙂

    check out my makeup blog for more reviews and swatches 🙂

    ke
    blissfullyke.blogspot.com

  2. Wow, didn't think there would be such a small cost difference between the two! Very interesting post. I am sorry that happened to your cream though the photo is adorable 🙂

Leave a Reply

